Ignacio Urquiza and Bernardo Quinzaños and Davies Toews

March 7, 2019
7:00 p.m.

Left: Ignacio Urquiza, Bernardo Quinzaños, CCA | Boys and Girls Club, Chiconautla, Mexico, 2018. Credit: Onnis Luque. Right: Davies Toews | 261 Warren Street, Brooklyn, NY, 2018. Credit: Maya Alexander

The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices program spotlights North American architects, landscape architects, and urban designers who have significant bodies of realized work and the potential to influence their field.

Join us for lectures by two 2019 Emerging Voices.

New York firm Davies Toews was founded in 2009 by Trattie Davies and Jonathan Toews. The practice seeks to identify project limitations and constraints early on, then shape design strategies around them. Its built work spans school buildings, private homes, and park facilities. Recent projects include University of Chicago Charter School: Woodlawn and the Cupsuptic Bathhouse and Pavilion in Cupsuptic Lake Campground in Oquossoc, Maine.

Bernardo Quinzaños and Ignacio Urquiza founded Mexico City-based Centro de Colaboración Arquitectónica (CCA) in 2008. With plans to establish independent practices in the offing, Quinzaños and Urquiza have consistently focused on multidisciplinary collaboration as a means to optimize design outcomes in their work as CCA. Recent projects include the Boys and Girls Club of Mexico in Ecatepec, Mexico, and residential commissions Casa Moreno and Casa Estudio Hill in Valle de Bravo and Mexico City, respectively.

Moderators Alan Organschi and Josephine Minutillo both served on the Emerging Voices jury.

Minutillo is Features Editor of Architectural Record.

Organschi is a principal of Gray Organschi Architecture and a past Emerging Voices winner (2009). He teaches at the Yale School of Architecture.


Emerging Voices is generously supported by Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown. The Emerging Voices program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.