Beaux Arts Ball 2019: WAVE

A benefit for the programs of The Architectural League of New York.

September 27, 2019
9:00 p.m.

You’re invited!

First Wave, Nouvelle Vague, Third Wave, Next Wave, New Wave, No Wave. Waves have long been used as metaphors for movements and cohorts that mark moments in culture. The Architectural League’s Beaux Arts Ball 2019: WAVE will celebrate these generative and transformative forces of waves. Continuing our multiyear residency exploring the Brooklyn Navy Yard, the Ball will take place at Shed 269, a vast former submarine assembly building, currently part of Agger Fish Corp. 

Greg Corso and Molly Hunker of SPORTS, along with lighting designer Ken Farmer of Wild Dogs International, will create an original, immersive environment in response to this year’s theme. 

Festive dress. #BAB19

For information about sponsorship opportunities or for tickets to pre-event cocktails and dinner for benefactors, please contact Daniel Cioffi at 212.753.1722 ext. 17 or email

Benefit Committee Chair
Jonathan Marvel

Benefit Committee Co-chairs
Bob Balder, Dana Getman, Lizzie Hodges, Andy Klemmer, Marc McQuade, Robin Elmslie Osler, Kirsten Sibilia, and Claire Weisz

The Architectural League extends its thanks to Marc Agger for helping to make this event possible.

Benefit Committee
The Architectural League gratefully thanks its supporters. Scroll down to view a full list of this year’s Benefit Committee.


Molly Hunker and Greg Corso, SPORTS

Lighting Design
Ken Farmer, Wild Dogs International

DJ Jung and DJ Paz

Michael Bierut and Britt Cobb, Pentagram

Drinks & Light Fare
The Cleaver Company

Patron Sponsors

Fogarty Finger Architecture
Handel Architects
Leroy Street Studio
Marvel Architects
MBB Architects
Paratus Group
SHoP Architects
Xhema of New York

Sustainer Sponsors

Andrew Berman Architect
Daniel and Estrellita Brodsky
Grace Farms Foundation
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
MdeAS Architects
Jeannie and Tom Phifer
Robert A.M. Stern Architects
Sage and Coombe Architects
Sciame Construction
Annabelle Selldorf
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Susan T Rodriguez | Architecture • Design
Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners
Vornado Realty Trust
WXY architecture + urban design

Advocate Sponsors

ABC Stone
Adjaye Associates
Atelier Ten
Bernheimer Architecture
Beyer Blinder Belle, Architects and Planners
BKSK Architects
BuroHappold Engineering
Caples Jefferson Architects
COOKFOX Architects
Corcoran Sunshine Marketing Group
CRAFT | Engineering Studio
Dattner Architects
Deborah Berke Partners
Duce Construction Corporation
Ennead Architects
FXCollaborative Architects
Gluckman Tang Architects
Guy Nordenson and Associates
HR&A Advisors
Hunter Douglas Architectural
ikon.5 architects
Jaros, Baum & Bolles
JG Neukomm Architecture
Ken Smith Workshop
Knippers Helbig
KPFF Consulting Engineers
Kubany Judlowe
INC Architecture & Design
Carol Loewenson
LSTN Consultants
LTL Architects
Marble Fairbanks Architects
Morris Adjmi Architects
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects
Rockefeller Group
Mark Robbins
Rockwell Group
Rogers Partners
RZAPS/Ricardo Zurita Architects
Severud Associates
SPAN Architecture
Tsao & McKown Architects
Verona Carpenter Architects
W Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Walter P Moore
Water Street Tampa

Advocate Media Sponsor

Supporting Media Sponsors

The Architectural League would like to thank its Advocate Media Sponsor, The Architect’s Newspaper, as well as our Media Partners, ArchDaily, Archinect, Bustler, and Dezeen.

Benefit Committee

Morris Adjmi
Anne Alexander
Ken Andria
Michael Arad
Peter Bafitis
Seema H. Bajaria
Alexandra Barker and Reid Freeman
Carmi Bee
Stuart Beckerman
Leslie Berger
Andrew D. Berman and Silvia Spagnoli Berman
Sarah Berman
Nicole and Andy Bernheimer
Alexander S. Bernstein
Stella Betts and David Leven
Bina Bhattacharyya
Michael Bierut
Michael Bischoff
Ian Booth
Stephen Brockman
Daniel and Estrellita Brodsky
Eric Bunge and Mimi Hoang
Mary Burnham
Pam Campbell
Sara Caples and Everardo Jefferson
Jennifer Carpenter
John Cetra
Nick Chiaro
Brad Cooke
Peter Coombe
Chris Cooper
Fiona Cousins
Russell Crader
Elias Dagher
Diana Darling
Jared Della Valle
Edward DePaola
Antonio Dominguez
Kenneth Drucker
Bill Edwards
Karen Fairbanks and Scott Marble
Brian Falconer
Robert Finger
Eugene Flotteron
Chris Fogarty
Belmont Freeman
Michael Freliech
Frank Fusaro
Denzil Gallagher
Jeanne Gang
Deborah Gans and James Garrison
Mark Gardner
Jared Gilbert
Pier Giorgetti
Richard Gluckman
Kris Graves and Sarah Fajardo
Sara Grant
Gary E. Handel
Morgan Hare
Guido Hartray
Thorsten Helbig
Daniel Heuberger
Cary Hirschstein
David Himelman
Phu Hoang and Rachely Rotem
Steven Holl
Chris Hughes
Tracey Hummer
Florian Idenburg and Jing Liu
Stephan Jaklitsch
Mary Margaret Jones
Wendy Evans Joseph
Rachel Judlowe
Rhoda Kennedy
Nico Kienzl
Jonathan Kirschenfeld
Andy Klemmer
Spiro Kremmidas
David Krulewitch and Olivia Cothren
Elizabeth Kubany
Armand LeGardeur and Rosalie Genevro
Maxinne Rhea Leighton
George Leventis
Frances Levine
Aaron Levy
David Lewis
Kenneth A. Lewis
Paul Lewis
Carol Loewenson
Frank Lupo and Mimi Taft
Michael A. Manfredi and Marion Weiss
Grant Marani and Anne Rieselbach
Jonathan Marvel
Rory McCreesh
Cathleen McGuigan and David Berridge
Marc McQuade
William Menking
Blake Middleton
Joseph Mizzi
Gina Morrow
Stephen Moser and Catherine Crocker
Jeffrey Murphy
Jean-Gabriel Neukomm and Sara Ogger
Krista Ninivaggi
James Nozar
Nat Oppenheimer and Karen Frome
Robin Elmslie Osler
Matt Owens
Nancy Owens
Gregg Pasquarelli
Peter Pelsinski
Tristan Pendyck
Maria Perbellini
Miriam Peterson and Nathan Rich
Jeannie and Tom Phifer
John Pierce
AJ Pires
Alexandra Polier
Robert Portnoff
Sharon Prince
Jameson Proctor
Joshua Ramus
Lyn Rice and Astrid Lipka
Juergen Riehm
Mark Robbins
Gustavo Rodriguez
Susan T. Rodriguez and Charles Lowrey
Robert M. Rogers and Alissa C. Bucher
Adam Rolston
Faith Rose and Devin O’Neill
Philip Ryan and Anna Vallye
Jennifer Sage
Troy Schaum
Paul Schulhof
Annabelle Selldorf
Dan Shannon
Christopher Sharples
Coren Sharples
William Sharples
Rosalyne Shieh
Kirsten Sibilia
Michael Sillerman
Jane Smith
Ken Smith and Priscilla McGeehon
Henry Smith-Miller and Laurie Hawkinson
Lissa So
Nathaniel M. Stanton
Karen Stonely
Drew Stuart
Margaret Sullivan
Michael Szivos
Dana Tang
Jonathan Tibett
Adam Trojanowski
Calvin Tsao and Zack McKown
Billie Tsien and Tod Williams
Marc Tsurumaki
Marc Turkel
Lyndsey Belle Tyler
Lindsay Urquhart
Erik Verboon
Irina Verona
Fernando and Maria Villa
Christopher Vitolano
Weston Walker
Alastair Wallace
Shawn Watts
Brendan Weiden
Claire Weisz and Mark Yoes
Kate Wittels
Barbara Wilks
Xiaoxiao Wu
Stephen Yablon
Bryan Young
Zoë Zellers
David Zerykier
Ricardo Zurita

More on SPORTS, designers of this year's installation


The work of Molly Hunker and Greg Corso unites playfulness and rigor.

SPORTS lecture

League Prize winners Greg Corso and Molly Hunker discuss their design philosophy and approach.