League Prize winner

David Eskenazi of d.esk

d.esk | Two Scrolls, 2019. Image courtesy d.esk.

The League Prize is an annual competition that has been organized by The Architectural League since 1981. Open to designers ten years or less out of school, it draws entrants from around North America.

David Eskenazi of d.esk won a 2020 award.

David Eskenazi founded Los Angeles-based d.esk in 2014. According to the architect, his practice aims “to contribute to the history of ideas in architecture through a close look at contemporary conundrums.” Experimenting with scale, materiality, and design processes, Eskenazi also pursues research through writing.

Recent projects include:

  • Two Scrolls, an experiment on physical paper models and digital modelling leading to an architecture that does not defy gravity, but accepts it. 
  • Slump Model, a large paper model installation connecting two facades from another project, Ziggurhut, a house currently under construction in Yucatán, Mexico.
  • Training Wheels, an installation made of cardboard that questions the scale of buildings and architectural practice itself.

Eskenazi holds a BArch from Carnegie Mellon University and an MArch from Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc), where he currently serves as full-time faculty.

Eskenazi was awarded a 2017 MacDowell Fellowship and a 2015 Willard A. Oberdick Fellowship from the University of Michigan Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning. His writings have been published in Project Journal, Pidgin Magazine, Dimensions, and other publications.

Learn more: