The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 2004 Emerging Voices are:

  • Elliott + Associates Architects, Oklahoma City
  • John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects, Los Angeles
  • Ken Smith Landscape Architect, New York City
  • Lorcan O’Herlihy, Los Angeles
  • Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects, Seattle
  • Pierre Thibault, Quebec
  • Preston Scott Cohen, Cambridge, MA
  • Pugh + Scarpa, Los Angeles

More from past Emerging Voices

Omar Gandhi lecture

Canadian architect Omar Gandhi, winner of a 2016 Emerging Voices award, discusses his work.