The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1996 Emerging Voices are:

  • Allied Works, Brad Cloepfil, New York, Portland, OR
  • Audrey Matlock Architect, Audrey Matlock, New York City
  • Baratloo-Balch Architects, Mojdeh Baratloo, Clifton Beach, New York City
  • Konyk Architecture, Craig Konyk, Brooklyn
  • Lindroth + Newick \\ Newick Architects, New Haven
  • Louise Braverman, Architect, Louise Braverman, New York City
  • Reiser + Umemoto, Jesse Reiser, Nanako Umemoto, New York City
  • Carlos Zapata Design Studio (CZDS), Carlos Zapata, Boston