The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1994 Emerging Voices are:

  • Angélil/Graham Architecture, Marc Angelil, Sarah Graham, Los Angeles, Zurich
  • Carlos Jimenez Studio, Carlos Jimenez, Houston
  • Cunningham Architects, Gary Cunningham, Dallas
  • FTL Happold, Nicholas Goldsmith, New York City
  • James Cutler Architects, James Cutler, Bainbridge Island, WA
  • Kennedy & Violich Architecture (KVA), Sheila Kennedy, Frano Violich, Boston
  • Tanner Leddy Maytum Stacy Architect,

    William Leddy, Marsha Maytum, Richard Stacy, James L. Tanner, San Francisco

  • TEN Arquitectos, Enrique Norten, Mexico City

More from past Emerging Voices

INABA lecture

Jeffrey Inaba discussed his work as part of the Emerging Voices lecture series.