The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1990 Emerging Voices are:

  • Holt Hinshaw Pfau Jones, San Francisco
  • Keenen Riley Architects, New York City
  • Koning Eizenberg Architecture, Santa Monica
  • Mockbee/Coker Architects, Canton, MS & Memphis
  • Ralph Johnson, Perkins+Will, Chicago
  • Walter Chatham Architect, New York City

More from past Emerging Voices

modus studio lecture

Chris Baribeau discusses his firm's work in Northwest Arkansas as part of the Emerging Voices lecture series.