The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1989 Emerging Voices are:

  • Lars Lerup, Berkeley
  • Mack Architect(s), San Francisco
  • Schwartz/Silver Architects, Boston
  • Steven Harris Architects, New York City
  • TsAO & McKOWN Architects, New York City
  • William Rawn Associates, Boston

More from past Emerging Voices

Merge Architects lecture

March 19, 2015 | Elizabeth Whittaker | Finding “invention in the ordinary,” Merge Architects moves between digital fabrication and the handmade.

Studio Roberto Rovira lecture

March 12, 2015 | Roberto Rovira | Moments of collision between the built and natural world offer opportunity for Studio Roberto Rovira’s ecologically focused practice.