The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1986 Emerging Voices are:

  • Bart Prince, Architect, Albuquerque
  • de Bretteville/Polyzoides, Los Angeles
  • Centerbrook Architects and Planners, Centerbrook, CT
  • Haigh Space, New York City
  • Koetter, Kim & Associates, Boston
  • Peter C. Papademetriou, Houston
  • Smith and Others Architects, San Diego
  • Turner Brooks, Architect, Starksboro, VT

More from past Emerging Voices

Omar Gandhi lecture

Canadian architect Omar Gandhi, winner of a 2016 Emerging Voices award, discusses his work.

S-AR lecture

Mexican design firm S-AR presents its work as part of the 2016 Emerging Voices event series.