The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1984 Emerging Voices are:

  • Bentley LaRosa Salasky, New York City
  • Chrysalis Corporation Architects, Milwaukee
  • Eric Owen Moss Architects, Culver City, CA
  • Frederick Fisher, Architect, Los Angeles
  • Henry Smith-Miller, Architect, New York City
  • Robert James Coote, Architect, Austin
  • Stanley Saitowitz Office, San Francisco
  • Theodore Ceraldi, Architect, Nyack, NY

More from past Emerging Voices

Leong Leong lecture

The designers describe work ranging from an experimental boutique in New York to an LGBT campus in Los Angeles.