The Architectural League’s annual Emerging Voices award spotlights North American individuals and firms with distinct design voices that have the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within design and academia.

The work of each Emerging Voice represents the best of its kind and addresses larger issues within architecture, landscape, and the built environment.

The 1983 Emerging Voices are:

  • Anthony Ames Architect, Atlanta
  • Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company, Miami
  • Krueck & Olsen Architects, Chicago
  • Martin & Jones Architects, Washington DC
  • Morphosis, Los Angeles
  • Richard Oliver Architect, New York City
  • Peter D. Waldman Architect, Houston
  • Wilson Associates, New York City

More from past Emerging Voices


March 5, 2015 | Drawing from a heritage of Mexican modernism, CC ARQUITECTOS finds opportunity in constraints and “minimizing complexity.”