President’s Medal Dinner 2024

Watch the presentation of the 2024 President's Medal to Martin Puryear.

July 2, 2024

Recorded on May 14, 2024.

The President’s Medal is The Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize extraordinary achievements in architecture, urbanism, art, design, and the environment.

In this video, Architectural League president Mario Gooden presents the 2024 President’s Medal to artist Martin Puryear in recognition of his impact on the professions of architecture, landscape, and urbanism. The Medal was presented at a gala dinner at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York. 

Puryear was celebrated in remarks by League president Mario Gooden of Mario Gooden Studio: Architecture + Design and professor at Columbia GSAPP; Kellie Jones, Chair of the Department African American and African Diaspora Studies and Hans Hofmann Professor of Modern Art in the Department of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University; Brooke Kamin Rapaport, Artistic Director and Martin Friedman Chief Curator at Madison Square Park Conservancy; and Billie Tsien, founding principal of Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects. The event was co-chaired by Rashid Johnson, Joseph Mizzi, Calvin Tsao, Gooden, and Tsien.


Walter Hood

Watch the League's presentation of the 2021 President's Medal to Walter Hood.

2021 Video