142nd Annual Meeting

Andrés Jaque delivers the 2023 Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address following remarks by Mario Gooden and Rosalie Genevro.

July 28, 2023

Recorded on June 20, 2023.

The Architectural League’s Annual Meeting is a forum for the election of officers and directors, reports on recent accomplishments and plans for the future. Free and open to all, the event features the Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address, a commissioned lecture by a leading figure in architectural practice, education, or theory who brings a distinctive point of view to the question of what can—and should—animate architectural discourse and production now.

On June 20, 2023, members and friends of The Architectural League gathered at Congregation Beit Simchat Torah (CBST) for the 142nd Annual Meeting.

Following the official election of officers and directors, remarks were made by League president Mario Gooden and the League’s outgoing executive director, Rosalie Genevro. Genevro spoke of the organization’s accomplishments over the past four decades and shared her hopes for its future. 

The 2023 Henry N. Cobb Annual Meeting Address was delivered by Andrés Jaque, dean of Columbia University GSAPP. Jaque presented ten proposals on what buildings can do today, emphasizing architecture’s possibility to serve a diverse constituency, inviting communities, individuals, fauna, and flora, and the larger environment to interact through it. 

Prior to the program, Stephen Cassell of Architecture Research Office led a tour of CBST’s renovated spaces located in the lower floors of 130 West 30th Street, a landmarked pre-war building designed by League founder Cass Gilbert. The tour concluded with a welcome by Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum, the spiritual leader of CBST.

All photos by Cameron Blaylock.