2019 President’s Medal Dinner

Honoring Darren Walker

April 9, 2019

The President’s Medal is The Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize extraordinary achievements in architecture, urbanism, art, design, and the environment.

On April 9, 2019, Architectural League President Paul Lewis will present the 2019 President’s Medal to Darren Walker, President of the Ford Foundation. The Architectural League will honor Darren Walker as a patron, client, and visionary, for his commitment to social justice, to the arts, and to the public good.

The Medal will be presented at a gala dinner in New York. Architect and planner Vishaan Chakrabarti; Maurice Cox, Director of Planning and Development for the City of Detroit; Thelma Golden, Director and Chief Curator of The Studio Museum in Harlem; along with Lewis and Rosalie Genevro, League Executive Director, will make remarks. Arts patron Agnes Gund is serving as the dinner’s honorary chair.

Explore past President's Medal events

May 18, 2017

His Highness the Aga Khan

On May 18, 2017, The Architectural League presented its President's Medal to His Highness the Aga Khan.

April 9, 2012

Amanda Burden

On April 9, 2012, The Architectural League presented its President's Medal to Amanda Burden.