Annual Election of Officers and Directors of The Architectural League

The founding of The Architectural League on January 18, 1881 by a group of young architects led by Cass Gilbert exemplified the ferment and ambition of New York’s architecture community towards the end of the nineteenth century. At a time when formal architectural education was still rare, the establishment of a voluntary association for “the purposes…of architectural study” was an acknowledgment on the part of young American architects that if they were to evolve creatively and intellectually, they would need to create the environment in which to do so themselves. Over the course of more than one hundred thirty-five years, that voluntary spirit of association and education has remained constant and continues to drive the League today.

Members of The Architectural League play an important role in its governance. Members elect the organization’s Officers and Directors, who oversee the League’s operations and its professional staff.

All members in good standing are encouraged to vote online using the private ballot that has been distributed by email. The proposed slate of Officers and Directors has been nominated by a committee of the League’s current Board and approved by the full Board. By casting your vote, you empower proxies (the League’s President, Secretary, and Executive Director) to officially cast ballots on your behalf at this year’s Annual Meeting, which we encourage all members to attend.

To vote on this year’s proposed slate of Officers and Directors, members may access their ballot using the unique link that has been emailed to them. If you have questions about the election or if you need a replacement ballot, email for assistance.

The structure of the Board, its current members, and individuals newly nominated to serve

Who serves on the Board of The Architectural League?
The structure of the League’s governance is set by the League’s by-laws. The League’s Board is made up of a President, who must be an architect; a Treasurer; a Secretary; a First Vice-President, who also must be an architect; and additional Vice-Presidents, representing architecture’s allied arts. From its inception, the League’s programs have been characterized by an emphasis on architecture as an art and on the connection of architecture to the other arts. The League’s vice-presidencies (for visual arts, landscape design, photography, graphic design, industrial design, urban planning, engineering, and history and theory) represent not only a reminder of the historic goals and structure of the organization, but a commitment to ongoing interdisciplinary conversation. Officers serve two-year terms. In addition to Officers, Directors are elected to complete the Board’s membership. Directors are elected in classes and serve for three years. Officers and Directors may be re-elected.

Who currently serves on the League’s Board?
To see a full list of the 2019-2020 Board, click here.

Who is nominated to serve in 2020-2021?
Individuals nominated for election in 2020 are:
President: Paul Lewis, architect, LTL Architects
Vice-President for Architecture: Mario Gooden, architect, Huff + Gooden Architects
Vice-President for Visual Arts: Torkwase Dyson, artist
Vice-President for Photography: Kris Graves, photographer, publisher, Kris Graves Projects
Secretary: Mary Burnham, architect, MBB Architects

The following have been nominated to serve as Directors in the Class of 2023:
Amale Andraos, architect, WORKac; Dean, Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation
Fiona Cousins, engineer, Arup
Leslie Gill, architect, Leslie Gill Architect
Steven Holl, architect, Steven Holl Architect
Rachel Judlowe, public relations consultant, Kubany Judlowe
Gregg Pasquarelli, architect, SHoP Architects
Mark Robbins, architect, President, American Academy in Rome
Nader Tehrani, architect, NADAAA; Dean, The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture of The Cooper Union

The following have been nominated to serve as Directors in the Class of 2022:
Michael Bierut, graphic designer, Pentagram
Vishaan Chakrabarti, architect and planner, Practice for Architecture + Urbanism
Tucker Viemeister, industrial designer, Viemeister Industries

Who has been elected in previous years and will remain on the Board?
Previously elected Officers serving their second year of two-year terms are:
Vice-President for Landscape Architecture: Mary Margaret Jones, landscape architect, Hargreaves Jones
Vice-President for Engineering: Nico Kienzl, engineer, Atelier Ten
Vice-President for History, Theory, and Criticism: Mabel O. Wilson, architectural historian and theorist, architect, Studio And
Treasurer: Nat Oppenheimer, engineer, Silman

Members of the Classes of 2021 and 2022 are:
Stella Betts, architect, LEVENBETTS
Tatiana Bilbao, architect, Estudio Tatiana Bilbao
Jared Della Valle, architect and developer, Alloy
Frances Halsband, architect, Kliment Halsband Architects
Wendy Evans Joseph, architect, Studio Joseph
Andy Klemmer, cultural projects consultant, Paratus Group
Joseph Mizzi, President, Sciame Construction
Thomas Phifer, architect, Thomas Phifer and Partners
Lyn Rice, architect, Rice+Lipka Architects
Susan Rodriguez, architect, Susan T. Rodriguez | Architecture Design
Bradley Samuels, architect, SITU
Annabelle Selldorf, architect, Selldorf Architects
Ken Smith, landscape architect, Ken Smith Workshop
Karen Stein, writer, editor, architectural consultant
Calvin Tsao, architect, Tsao & McKown Architect
Billie Tsien, architect, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners
Claire Weisz, architect, WXY architecture + urban design

Is anyone stepping down from the Board?
Jorge Otero-Pailos, artist, architect, preservationist, has stepped down from the board.

What is a Life Trustee?
To recognize exceptional service to the League, the Board may appoint individuals to serve as Life Trustees of the League. While without formal voting powers or fiduciary responsibilities to the organization, Life Trustees remain active participants in and counselors to the League. Currently, three individuals serve as Life Trustees: arts patron Barbara Jakobson; journalist and historian Suzanne Stephens; and architect Robert A.M. Stern. The Board has designated architect Walter Chatham as a Life Trustee, for his years of service to the League, effective following this year’s Annual Meeting.

The Board and the League community note with deep sadness the deaths during the spring of 2020 of Life Trustees Michael Sorkin and Christo.