Special Events

Income from our annual benefits provides crucial support of The Architectural League’s annual programming.


Beaux Arts Ball 2016: Tabula Rasa

Beaux Arts Ball 2016: Tabula Rasa

Since The Architectural League revived the event in 1990, the Beaux Arts Ball has become the premier annual party of the architecture and design community in the city with over 1,000 architects, designers, artists, and their friends attending. The League identifies a distinctive architecturally significant venue for the Ball each year, and commissions installations or performances by architects and artists to create a unique environment for party-goers. A dinner for benefactors and sponsors precedes the event.

Sites for the Beaux Arts Ball have ranged from the Seagram Building in midtown Manhattan to the Brooklyn Army Terminal in Sunset Park. The 2015 Ball was held at the Knockdown Center in Maspeth. Click here for pictures of and more information on past events.

Sponsorships for companies and individuals are available. Sponsors join members of the design community in supporting The Architectural League and thus signal their commitment to design excellence, innovation, and intellectual discourse. Sponsors have direct engagement with an influential target audience from New York’s creative and design communities and are invited to attend the Benefactors Reception and Dinner with other leaders in design. Support from the Ball helps to make possible Architectural League programming throughout the year.

Please contact the League’s Development Director, Nicholas Anderson, at anderson@archleague.org for more information on sponsorship of the Ball. To see a full list of supporters from the 2016 Ball, click here.




Michael Bloomberg, winner of the 2016 President’s Medal

The President’s Medal is The Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, to recognize an extraordinary body of work in architecture, urbanism, art, or design. The Medal is awarded at a benefit gala in the Spring. Recent recipients of The Architectural League’s President’s Medal have included Michael R. Bloomberg, Henry N. Cobb, Richard Serra, Renzo Piano, Amanda Burden, Massimo and Lella Vignelli, Hugh Hardy, Richard Meier, Ada Louise Huxtable, Robert A.M. Stern, Kenneth Frampton, Tod Williams and Billie Tsien, and Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown. To learn more about recipients of the Medal and to see pictures from the dinners, click here.

To receive an invitation to purchase tickets or a table for the President’s Medal dinner, please contact the League’s Development Director, Nicholas Anderson, at anderson@archleague.org. To see a full list of supporters of the 2016 President’s Medal Dinner in honor of Michael R. Bloomberg, click here.