135th Annual Election of Officers and Directors


Annual Election of Officers and Directors of The Architectural League

The founding of The Architectural League on January 18, 1881 by a group of young architects led by Cass Gilbert exemplified the ferment and ambition of New York’s architecture community towards the end of the nineteenth century. At a time when formal architectural education was still rare, the establishment of a voluntary association for “the purposes…of architectural study” was an acknowledgement on the part of young American architects that if they were to evolve creatively and intellectually, they would need to create the environment in which to do so themselves. Over the course of more than one hundred thirty-five years, that voluntary spirit of association and education has remained constant and continues to drive the League today.

Members of The Architectural League play an important role in its governance. Members elect the organization’s directors and officers, who oversee the League’s operations and its professional staff.

All members are encouraged to vote online. The proposed slate of officers and directors has been nominated by a committee of the League’s current Board and approved by the full Board. By casting your vote, you empower proxies (the League’s President, Secretary, and Executive Director) to officially cast ballots on your behalf at this year’s Annual Meeting, which we encourage all members to attend.

To vote on this year’s proposed slate of officers and directors, click here.

The structure of the Board, its current members, and individuals newly nominated to serve

Who serves on the Board of The Architectural League?
The structure of the League’s governance is set by the League’s By-laws. The League’s Board is made up of a President, who must be an architect; a Treasurer; a Secretary; a First Vice President, who also must be an architect; and additional Vice Presidents, representing architecture’s allied arts. From its inception, the League’s programs have been characterized by an emphasis on architecture as an art and on the connection of architecture to the other arts. The League’s vice presidencies (for visual arts, landscape design, photography, graphic design, industrial design, urban design, engineering, and history and theory) represent not only a reminder of the historic goals and structure of the organization, but a commitment to ongoing interdisciplinary conversation. Officers serve two-year terms. In addition to officers, Directors are elected to complete the Board’s membership. Directors are elected in classes (eg, the Class of 2019) and serve for three years. Officers and directors may be re-elected.

Who currently serves on the League’s Board?
To see a full list of the 2015-16 Board, click here.

Who is nominated to serve in 2016-17?
Individuals nominated for election in 2016 are:
President: Billie Tsien (architect, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects | Partners)
Vice-President for Architecture: Annabelle Selldorf | architect, Selldorf Architects)
Vice-President for Visual Arts: Torkwase Dyson (artist)
Vice-President for Design and Crafts: Michael Bierut (graphic designer, Pentagram)
Vice-President for Urban Design: Vishaan Chakrabarti (architect and planner, Partnership for Architecture and Urbanism)
Vice-President for Industrial Design: Tucker Viemeister (industrial designer, Viemeister Industries)
Secretary: Karen Stein (independent architectural consultant and writer)

The following have been nominated to serve as Directors in the Class of 2019:
Mary Burnham (architect, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects)
Walter Chatham (architect, Walter Chatham Architect)
Arthur Cohen (cultural strategist, LaPlaca Cohen)
Maxine Griffith (architect and planner, Executive Vice President for Government and Community Affairs, Columbia University)
Frances Halsband (architect, Kliment Halsband Architects)
Thom Mayne (architect, Morphosis)
Thomas Phifer (architect, Thomas Phifer and Partners)
Bradley Samuels (architect, SITU Studio Fabrication Research)
Calvin Tsao (architect, TsAO & McKOWN)

Director, Class of 2018:
Claire Weisz (architect, WXY architecture + urban design)

Director, Class of 2017:
Steven Holl (architect, Steven Holl Architects)

Mary Burnham, Torkwase Dyson, and Bradley Samuels have been nominated to join the Board of the League as Directors in the Class of 2019.

Who has been elected in previous years and will remain on the Board?
Previously elected officers serving their second year of two-year terms are:
Vice-President for Landscape Design: Ken Smith (landscape architect, Ken Smith Workshop)
Vice-President for Engineering: Nat Oppenheimer (engineer, Silman)
Vice-President for History and Theory: Jorge Otero-Pailos (preservationist, artist, and architect)
Treasurer: Joseph Mizzi (construction executive, Sciame Construction Co.)

Members of the Classes of 2018 and 2017 are:
David Adjaye (architect, Adjaye Associates)
Amale Andraos (architect, WORKac and Dean, Columbia GSAPP)
Stella Betts (architect, LEVENBETTS)
Fiona Cousins (engineer, Arup)
Jared Della Valle (architect and developer, Alloy)
Leslie Gill (architect, Leslie Gill Architect)
Mario Gooden (architect, Huff + Gooden Architects)
Wendy Evans Joseph (architect, Studio Joseph)
Rachel Judlowe (public relations executive, Kubany Judlowe)
Paul Lewis (architect, LTL Architects)
Frank Lupo (architect, Woods Bagot)
Peter Mullan (architect and CEO, Waller Creek Conservancy)
Kate Orff (landscape architect, SCAPE / Landscape Architecture)
Gregg Pasquarelli (architect, SHoP Architects)
Lyn Rice (architect, Rice+Lipka Architects)
Mark Robbins (president, American Academy in Rome)
Susan Rodriguez (architect, Ennead Architects)
Michael Sorkin (architect and critic, Michael Sorkin Studio and Terreform)

Is anyone stepping down from the Board?
After over forty years of service on the League’s Board, architect Hugh Hardy of H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture has decided to step down. In honor of his long and dedicated service, the Board has appointed Hugh Hardy as a Life Trustee.

What is a Life Trustee?
To recognize exceptional service to the League, the Board may appoint individuals to serve as Life Trustees of the League. While without formal voting powers or fiduciary responsibilities to the organization, Life Trustees remain active participants in and counselors to the League. Currently five individuals serve as Life Trustees: the artist Christo and Jeanne-Claude; arts patron Barbara Jakobson; architect Richard Meier; journalist and historian Suzanne Stephens; and architect Robert A.M. Stern.