Henry N. Cobb

The Architectural League presented the President’s Medal to Henry N. Cobb, a founding partner of Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, on May 4, 2015 at a dinner held at the Metropolitan Club. The President’s Medal is the League’s highest honor and is bestowed annually, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, to recognize an extraordinary body of work in architecture, urbanism, art, or design.

Cobb was honored for “the truly consequential work he has created as designer, educator, thinker, writer, and leader…Henry N. Cobb embodies that combination of capability and conviction — artistic, intellectual, practical, and civic — that defines the ideal architect.”

At the award ceremony, educator and former Harvard University President Neil Rudenstine, architects Merrill Elam and Mack Scogin, and engineer Guy Nordenson gave remarks celebrating Cobb and his work. Below, read the text of those remarks and the award citation presented to Cobb, see photographs from the evening, and listen to audio from a 1986 lecture by Cobb on the placemaking potential of the office tower.

The President’s Medal exemplifies The Architectural League’s 134-year history of encouraging and honoring excellence in architecture, urbanism, art, and design. Recent recipients of the President’s Medal include Richard Serra, Renzo Piano, Amanda Burden, Massimo and Lella Vignelli, Hugh Hardy, Richard Meier, Ada Louise Huxtable, Robert A.M. Stern, Kenneth Frampton, Billie Tsien and Tod Williams, and Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown.

Published: May 7, 2015

Photos below: President’s Medal dinner photos by Fran Parente; John Hancock Tower © Steve Rosenthal