The Architectural League Prize 2014 Night II


The Architectural League Prize 2014 Night II
Kutan Ayata and Michael Young, Young & Ayata,
Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman, Norman Kelley
Jenny E. Sabin, Jenny Sabin Studio

1.5 AIA and New York State CEUs
The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design for co-sponsoring and hosting the League Prize exhibition and lectures.

The second evening of lectures by winners of The Architectural League Prize features Kutan Ayata and Michael Young of Young & Ayata, Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman of Norman Kelley, and Jenny E. Sabin of Jenny Sabin Studio. The League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects. This year’s theme for the portfolio competition, Overlay, asks how the idea of overlay (iterative, conceptual, and notational) drives discourse, tension between iterations, design solutions, and the parameters by which work is reviewed.

A reception with the opportunity to view the exhibition will follow the lecture.

Visit the 2014 League Prize online feature for more on this year’s winners and their work.

Time & Place
Thursday, June 26, 2014
7:00 p.m.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Parsons The New School for Design
66 Fifth Avenue
Click here for a Livestream of the event.
SOLD OUT — Advance reservations for tickets in the lecture hall are sold out. Additional tickets may become available due to no shows and will be given on a first-come, first-served basis the night of the lecture. Additionally, all are welcome to attend the reception and exhibition viewing following the lectures, which will start roughly at 8:30 p.m. No reservations are necessary for the reception and exhibition. Email with any questions. Tickets are free for League members; $10 for non-members. Members may reserve a ticket by e-mailing: Member tickets will be held at the check-in desk; unclaimed tickets will be released fifteen minutes after the start of the program. Non-members may purchase tickets here, beginning June 16.
The Architectural League Prize is made possible with corporate support from Dornbracht and Tischler und Sohn and individual support from Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown.

The League Prize program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State legislature and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.