Richard Serra

On May 6, 2014, Architectural League President Annabelle Selldorf presented the League’s President’s Medal to artist Richard Serra at a dinner held at the Metropolitan Club. The President’s Medal is the League’s highest honor and is bestowed annually, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize an extraordinary body of work in architecture, urbanism, art, or design. At the award ceremony, Selldorf, curator and early Serra patron Emily Rauh Pulitzer, and architects Marion Weiss and Michael Manfredi gave remarks celebrating Serra and his work. Below, see the text of those remarks, the award citation presented to Serra, and photographs from the evening.

From its inception in 1881, the League has emphasized the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration and conversation, with a particular commitment to the connection between architecture and the visual arts. As part of its Centennial celebrations in 1981, the League organized an exhibition and publication that brought eleven teams of architects and artists together—including a partnership between Richard Serra and Frank Gehry—to review the historical links between art and architecture and to explore the possibilities that exist for collaborations between artists and architects in the future.

The President’s Medal exemplifies The Architectural League’s 130-year history of encouraging and honoring excellence in architecture, urbanism, art, and design. Recent recipients of the President’s Medal have included Renzo Piano, Amanda Burden, Massimo and Lella Vignelli, Hugh Hardy, Richard Meier, Ada Louise Huxtable, Robert A.M. Stern, Kenneth Frampton, Billie Tsien and Tod Williams, and Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown.

Published: May 12, 2014