2014 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers: Overlay

The Architectural League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers. The Prize, established in 1981, recognizes exemplary and provocative work by young practitioners and provides a public forum for the exchange of their ideas. Each year, The Architectural League and the Young Architects + Designers Committee organize a portfolio competition. Six winners are then invited to present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition, a catalogue published by Princeton Architectural Press, and here on the League’s website.

This year’s committee members were Ajmal Aqtash, Beat Schenk, and Bryan Young. The theme for the portfolio competition, Overlay, asked how the idea of overlay (iterative, conceptual, and notational) drives discourse, tension between iterations, design solutions, and the parameters by which work is reviewed. In addition to the committee members, the 2014 jury consisted of Preston Scott Cohen, Evan Douglis, Florian Idenburg, Jennifer Lee, Charles Renfro, and Annabelle Selldorf. Anne Rieselbach, the League’s Program Director, oversees the program.

The 2014 winners of The Architectural League Prize are:

Kutan Ayata and Michael Young, Young & Ayata, Brooklyn
Claus Benjamin Freyinger and Andrew Holder, The LADG, Los Angeles
Adam Fure, SIFT Studio, Ann Arbor
Thomas Kelley and Carrie Norman, Norman Kelley, Brooklyn and Chicago
Jenny E. Sabin, Jenny Sabin Studio, Philadelphia
Geoffrey von Oeyen, Geoffrey von Oeyen Design, Los Angeles

The Architectural League Prize is made possible with corporate support from Dornbracht and Tischler und Sohn and individual support from Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown. 

The League Prize program is also supported by the  Next Generation Fund of The Architectural League. Architectural League programs are additionally supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State legislature and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.