Architectural League Prize 2012: No Precedent

The Architectural League Prize is one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects.

The Prize is an annual portfolio competition organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee. The committee, a group selected each year from past winners of the League Prize, is responsible for developing the program’s theme and selecting competition jurors. 2012’s theme, No Precedent, reflects the committee’s perception of young architects’ careers as “suggestive, speculative, and on the brink.” The committee called for “ideas, works, and methodologies that are unfounded, ungrounded, and suspect…the things no one has done before, and that one has little experience with.”

Every year, the Prize winners are invited to present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition, a catalogue published by Princeton Architectural Press, and, as below, on 

The 2012 jury consisted of Toshiko Mori, Gregg Pasquarelli, Lisa Phillips, Annabelle Selldorf, and Robert Somol. Committee members were Emily Abruzzo, Dominic Leong, and Michael Loverich. The program is directed by League Program Director Anne Rieselbach.


Published: December 4, 2012