The Architectural League Prize: Michael Szivos; Koji Tsutsui; Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim



Click image to see slideshow.
The Architectural League Prize
Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim, STPMJ
Michael Szivos, SOFTlab
Koji Tsutsui, Koji Tsutsui & Associates

Tuesday, June 26, 2012
7:00 p.m.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Parsons The New School for Design
66 Fifth Avenue
1.5 CEUs

The second evening of lectures by winners of the 31st annual Architectural League Prize.  A reception will follow the lectures.


SOFTlab is a New York-based design studio specializing in media: graphic design, branding, strategy, environmental design, and interactivity.  The studio was founded in 2005 by Michael Szivos.  The office’s work has been shown at the New Museum, MoMA, and The Metropolitan Museum of Art and the office was selected by the New York Chapter of the AIA in 2010 as part of its New Practice New York program.  Szivos received his B.Arch from Louisiana State University and his M.S. in Advanced Architectural Design from Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation. He is currently an Adjunct Assistant Professor at GSAPP and is a Visiting Professor at Pratt Institute’s Graduate School of Architecture.

Click image to see slideshow.

Koji Tsutsui & Associates was founded in Tokyo by Koji Tsutsui in 2004, opening an office in San Francisco in 2010.  The office’s InBetween house received a 2011 World Architecture Festival Award in the Villa Category and was named to Architectural Record‘s Record Houses.  The office was also part of Architectural Record‘s Design Vanguard in 2011.  In 2009, the office’s Annular Orphanage was a Finalist for the Global Holcim Award. Tsutsui received his B.Arch from the University of Tokyo and his M.Arch from The Bartlett School at University College London.

Click image to see slideshow.


STPMJ is an interdisciplinary architectural practice founded in 2009 with work in scale from furniture to urban infrastructure.  The office is lead by Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim and based in Brooklyn, New York. Seung Teak Lee was born in Seoul, Korea. After graduating with a B.E and M.E from Korea University, he received his M.Arch from the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Lee was the recipient of the Harvard Architectural Department’s Faculty Design Award in 2009 and was also a finalist for the SOM architecture and urban traveling fellowship. Mi Jung Lim was born in Seoul, Korea. After graduating with a B.S from Yonsei University, she received her B.Arch from Rhode Island School of Design and M.Arch from the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

Click image to see slideshow.


Tickets are free for League members; $10 for non-members. Members may reserve a ticket by e-mailing: Member tickets will be held at the check-in desk; unclaimed tickets will be released fifteen minutes after the start of the program.  Non-members may purchase tickets here, starting June 13.  Purchased tickets are available for pick-up at the venue check-in desk and are non-refundable.

The program is supported by DornbrachtSusan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn.  The program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of the Architectural League.

Architectural League programs are supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design for co-sponsoring the exhibition and lecture series.