The Architectural League Prize: Jimenez Lai; Emmanuel Ramirez, Jorge Arvizu, Ignacio del Rio, Diego Ricalde; Sean Lally


Click image to see slide show.

The Architectural League Prize
Jorge Arvizu, Ignacio del Rio, Emmanuel Ramirez, and Diego Ricalde, MMX Studio
Jimenez Lai, Bureau Spectacular
Sean Lally, WEATHERS / Sean Lally

Thursday, June 21, 2012
7:00 p.m.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Parsons The New School for Design
66 Fifth Avenue
1.5 CEUs

The first evening of lectures by winners of the 31st annual Architectural League Prize.  A reception will follow the lectures.

Established in 2009, MMX Studio is a collaborative practice based in Mexico City focused on design process and research.  The studio is led by Jorge Arvizu, who received his B.S. in architecture and M.S. in civil engineering from the Universidad Iberoamericana; Ignacio del Rio, who received his training in architecture from the National University of Mexico; Emmanuel Ramirez, who holds a degree in architecture from the National University of Mexico and a M.Arch from the Bartlett School of Architecture in London, and currently teaches at the Universidad Iberoamericana; and Diego Ricalde, who received his architecture training at the National University of Mexico and holds a Master’s degree in architecture and urbanism from the Architectural Association in London, and currently holds a teaching position at the Universidad Iberoamericana.  del Rio, Ramirez, and Ricalde were awarded the Mexican Young Creators Award in 2003 by the National Fund for Culture and Arts in Mexico.

Click image to see slideshow.


Jimenez Lai founded Bureau Spectacular in 2008 in Chicago. The office imagines other worlds and engages the design of architecture through telling stories, conflating design, representation, theory, criticism, history, and taste into cartoon pages. These cartoon narratives swerve into the physical world through architectural installations, models, and small buildings. Lai was the recipient of the LeFevre Fellowship.  His work has been widely exhibited and published. Lai’s graphic novel/manifesto, Citizens of No Place, will be published by Princeton Architectural Press with a grant from the Graham Foundation. Draft II of this book has been archived at the New Museum as a part of the show Younger Than Jesus. Jimenez Lai is currently an Assistant Professor at University of Illinois at Chicago and graduated with a M.Arch from University of Toronto.

Click image to see slideshow.

Sean Lally founded the office WEATHERS /Sean Lally in 2005 and is currently based in Chicago. The office explores the overlap of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design.  Lally is the co-editor and contributor of Softspace: From a Representation of Form to a Simulation of Space, from Routledge 2007 and was quest editor for the AD Journal issue entitled Energies: New Material Boundaries through Wiley Press 2009. A new single authored book entitled The Air on Other Planets will be published in 2013. He is the recipient of the 2011- 2012 Prince Charitable Trusts Rome Prize from the American Academy in Rome in Landscape Architecture. He is an Assistant Professor at the UIC School of Architecture, Chicago.  He received his B.S. in Landscape Architecture from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and his M.Arch from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Click image to see slideshow.

Tickets are free for League members; $10 for non-members. Members may reserve a ticket by e-mailing: Member tickets will be held at the check-in desk; unclaimed tickets will be released fifteen minutes after the start of the program.  Non-members may purchase tickets here, starting June 13.  Purchased tickets are available for pick-up at the venue check-in desk and are non-refundable.

The program is supported by DornbrachtSusan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn.  The program is also supported by the Next Generation Fund of the Architectural League.

Architectural League programs are supported, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design for co-sponsoring the exhibition and lecture series.