The Architectural League Prize: Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, and Tamaki Uchikawa; Unchung Na and Sorae Yoo; William O’Brien Jr.


Click image to see slide show.

The Architectural League Prize
Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, and Tamaki Uchikawa, form-ula
Unchung Na and Sorae Yoo, NAMELESS
William O’Brien Jr.

Wednesday, June 22
7:00 p.m.
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium
Sheila C. Johnson Design Center
Parsons The New School for Design
66 Fifth Avenue
1.5 CEUs

Advance tickets are sold out.  A limited number of tickets for walk-ins may be available.  The exhibition reception following the lectures, approximately starting at 8:15, is free and open to all; no reservations necessary.

The second evening of lectures by winners of the 30th annual Architectural League Prize, featuring Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, and Tamaki Uchikawa, form-ula; Unchung Na and Sorae Yoo, NAMELESS; and William O’Brien Jr.

formula-EPPB-001Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, and Tamaki Uchikawa founded form-ula in 2009 in New York City.  The firm is a multidisciplinary design practice that seeks to understand the intersection of design and engineering and its collaborative possibilities to produce culturally rich and high performance architecture for large and small scale projects Work includes Arch XXX, an art installation in Chicago; F.A.T. (face lift) in New York; and Clay Sutures: The Flats, an apartment complex in Louisville, KY.  The three are also co-founders of core.form-ula,  the research and development wing of form-ula, which seeks to capture cultural content related to design, engineering, science, technology, and art and organize it into an on-line repository.

formula-FAT-section cut-010

Aqtash is currently an Adjunct Professor at Pratt Institute School of Architecture and is Research Director at the Center for Experimental Structures (CES). Additionally, he serves as the Creative Art Director for Milgo-Bufkin’s Design Series.  Sarrach is Director of Digital Futures and an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Architecture in the Pratt Institute Undergraduate School of Architecture.  Aqtash, Sarrach, and Uchikawa each received a B.Arch from Pratt Institute School of Architecture and a MsAAD from the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at Columbia University.

01_NAMELESSUnchung Na and Sorae Yoo are principals of NAMELESS with offices in New York and Seoul. Committed to “the simplicity on the unpredictable world,” the firm’s recent projects include an ice pavilion in Winnipeg, Canada, collective housing in Tokyo, and an auditorium in Gyeonggi, Korea. In 2011, the firm was awarded an AIA New York Unbuilt Work Merit Award, and in 2010, it was awarded the Boston Society of Architects Award for Design Excellence.  The firm won first prize in the 2009 Seoul Museum of History Landmark design competition.


Na and Yoo both hold M.Arch degrees from the University of California, Berkeley. Na received his B.Eng in Architecture from Hongik University. Yoo received her B.Eng in Architecture from Korea University. They are both currently teaching at Hongik University in Korea.

WOJR_72_dpi_image_02William O’Brien Jr. is Assistant Professor of Architecture at the MIT School of Architecture and Planning and is principal of an independent design practice in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Last year his practice was a finalist for the MoMA/P.S.1 Young Architects Program, for which the firm designed an installation, “Weathers Permitting | A Field Guide to Transitional Environments.” More recently his work was recognized as an inaugural winner of the Design Biennial Boston Award. Projects include Allandale House in the Mountain West, Cog House, and Twins, a pair of houses in upstate New York.  He has been selected as a Socrates Fellow by the Aspen Institute and was named a MacDowell Fellow by the MacDowell Colony. His recent publications include the essays, “Approaching Irreducible Formations” in ACADIA re:Form, and “Experts in Expediency” in Log.


O’Brien received his M.Arch at Harvard University where he was the recipient of the Faculty Design Award and studied at Hobart College for his undergraduate degree in architecture and music theory.

Tickets are free for League members; $10 for non-members. Members may reserve a ticket by e-mailing: Member tickets will be held at the check-in desk; unclaimed tickets will be released fifteen minutes after the start of the program. Non-members may purchase tickets here, beginning one week before each program until six hours before the program start. Purchased tickets are available for pick-up at the venue check-in desk and are non-refundable.

For more information, email or call 212.753.1722 x13. AIA and New York State continuing education credits are available.

The Architectural League Prize is made possible, in part, by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State Agency, and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council. The program is supported by DornbrachtSusan Grant Lewin Associates, and Tischler und Sohn.

The League thanks the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design for co-sponsoring the exhibition and lecture series.

Images from top left to bottom right: form-ula, Arch XXX [ gallery interior 1]. Photo by Dhanraj Emanuel; NAMELESS, Playcloud. Image by Unchung Na+Sorae Yoo; William O’Brien Jr., Allandale House, © William O’Brien Jr. LLC.; form-ula, Electric Plant:Predator BLDG [ exterior night ]. Copyright form-ula; NAMELESS, Whiteout. Image by Unchung Na+Sorae Yoo; William O’Brien Jr., Allandale House © William O’Brien Jr. LLC.


dca-logo nysca_LOGO-rgb Dornbracht-logo SGLA-Logo Tischler-Logo_P