Sauerbruch Hutton



Current Work
Louisa Hutton

Friday, April 30, 2010
7:00 p.m.
The Great Hall, The Cooper Union
7 East 7th Street
1.5 HSW CEUs

Louisa Hutton and Matthias Sauerbruch founded Sauerbruch Hutton in the late eighties in London; in 1993 an office was opened in Berlin, where the firm is currently based. Louisa Hutton will discuss the firm’s sustainable approach to design in current and recent projects. Noted built work includes the Brandhorst Museum in Munich and the Federal Environmental Agency in Dessau.

Hutton-SAB_36_01_photo_Annette_KislingSauerbruch Hutton describes its design approach as “the enjoyment of the sensuality of space and material, as well as the mastery of up-to-date technology…combined with the intelligent use of existing resources of every kind” and explores the “extent to which sustainable design can be fully embedded in urban and architectural concepts and be translated into sensual and stimulating spaces.”

Other projects include the GSW Headquarters Berlin; Jessop West, Sheffield; offices for the KfW Banking Group, Frankfurt; Fire and Police Station, Berlin; Saint-Georges Centre, Geneva; and Experimental Factory, Magdeburg.

Louisa Hutton worked at A & P Smithson Architects, London before founding Sauerbruch Hutton. Since 2008, she has been a Visiting Professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. She received her B.A. from Bristol University, an AA Diploma from the Architectural Association, and a RIBA Part III.

The firm has received the Fritz Schumacher Prize for Architecture and the Erich Schelling Prize for Architecture. Sauerbruch Hutton is the recipient of numerous RIBA and AIA honors and numerous projects have been long- and short-listed for Mies van der Rohe Awards. The firm’s work has appeared in numerous periodicals and was featured in the monograph sauerbruch hutton archive.

Tickets are required for admission to League programs. Tickets are free for League members; $10 for non-members. Members may reserve a ticket by e-mailing: Member tickets will be held at the check-in desk; unclaimed tickets will be released fifteen minutes after the start of the program. Non-members may purchase tickets here until 3:00 p.m. the day of the program.

Co-sponsored by The Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture of The Cooper Union. AIA and New York State continuing education credits are available.

This program is made possible, in part, by public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, the New York State Council on the Arts, a State Agency, and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council.

Images from top to bottom: Sauerbruch Hutton, GSW Headquarters, Berlin. Image: Annette Kisling; Sauerbruch Hutton, Brandhorst Museum, Munich. Image: Annette Kisling.


ARRA2 dca-logo NEA_Logo-smallBlack nysca_LOGO-rgb