President’s Medal 2009: Richard Meier


2009 President's Medal: Richard Meier

2009 President’s Medal
Richard Meier

On February 9, 2009, The Architectural League of New York presented its President’s Medal to architect Richard Meier. The President’s Medal is the Architectural League’s highest honor and is bestowed, at the discretion of the League’s President and Board of Directors, on individuals to recognize an extraordinary body of work in architecture, urbanism, or design.

Recent recipients of the President’s Medal include Ada Louise Huxtable, Robert A.M. Stern, Kenneth Frampton, Tod Williams and Billie Tsien, and Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown.

In presenting the award, Architectural League President Calvin Tsao read the following citation:

The Architectural League awards its President’s Medal to Richard Meier in recognition of a remarkable body of work in which he has created, refined, and extended a rigorous architectural language that elevates the act of building and, thereby, the human activities that occur in the spaces he creates.  “Architecture is vital and enduring because it contains us,” he has written in describing his design philosophy; “it substantiates the space we exist in, move through, and use. My work is an effort to redefine and refine this ongoing human order, to interpret the relationship between what has been and what can be, to extract from our culture both the timeless and the topical.”